Staff Training

Care Certificate

* * Interested individuals can access these training programmes by emailing:

and requesting the password (eligible individuals only) **

The Care Certificate is a set of standards that social care and health workers stick to in their daily working life.

It is the new minimum standards that should be covered as part of induction training of new care workers.

The Care Certificate was developed jointly by Skills for Care, Health Education England and Skills for Health. It:

  • applies across social care and health
  • links to National Occupational Standards and unit qualifications
  • covers what is needed to be caring – giving workers a good basis from which they can develop their knowledge and skills.

Who is it for?

Designed with non-regulated workers in mind, the Care Certificate gives everyone the confidence that workers have the same induction – learning the same skills, knowledge and behaviours to provide compassionate, safe and high quality care and support.

The Care Certificate is the start of the career journey and is only one element of the training and education that will make them ready to practice within their specific sector.

Although the Care Certificate is designed for new staff, it also offers opportunities for existing staff to refresh or improve their knowledge.

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your personal development
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and diversity
  5. Work in a person centred way
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and dignity
  8. Fluids and nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
  10. Safeguarding adults
  11. Safeguarding children
  12. Basic life support
  13. Health and safety
  14. Handling information
  15. Infection prevention and control

Essential Knowledge

Essential Knowledge is the Continuing Professional Development (CPD) of support workers beyond induction and initial training is crucially important for service providers, the workforce, and for people using our service. CPD is an ongoing and planned learning and development process that contributes to work-based and personal development. The registered manager has a key responsibility to ensure that care practitioners each have individual development plans; they are provided with opportunities for CPD and that effective CPD systems are in place. This can be provided in a variety of ways to ensure practice and knowledge is up to date. CPD is relevant to the role, setting and the needs of the people using the service, and where possible should be linked to the Qualification Credit Framework.

An annual review of CPD should be undertaken by the Registered Manager as part of each care practitioner’s annual appraisal. Record keeping by the manager of the observation of working practice and competence should be used alongside the overall workforce plan and individual learning and development plans, to identify and record the further skills and qualifications needed by practitioners and how they are to be met.

Essential Knowledge is complemented and enhanced by Nationally recognised qualifications, which can be taken before, during or after the Care Certificate and Essential Knowledge, depending on the individuals needs, skills and competence, Levels 2-5 are are aim in this field, with a possibility that each candidate can achieve a full and lasting career path.

  1. Moving and Handling
  2. Infection Control
  3. Medication
  4. Safeguarding and Abuse
  5. Risk Assessment
  6. Anti-Discrimination Practice
  7. Challenging Behaviour
  8. Mental Capacity and DoLS
  9. Communications (Effective/Difficult)
  10. Counselling
  11. Accessing and Using Information
  12. Dementia
  13. End of Life Care
  14. Substance abuse
  15. Client Questionnaire

Learning Disability Knowledge

Apart from the General Knowledge element that all Support  Workers must comply with, as discussed above; specific knowledge of the learning Disability Sector also needs to be studied to understand the history, the communication issues, dealing with relationships and the need for accessing and using information. There are four workbooks in this section designed to take the individual through each section and enable them to have a deeper understanding of all aspects of supporting our individuals that we support.

Learning disabilities, or learning disorders, are an umbrella term for a wide variety of learning problems. A learning disability is not a problem with intelligence or motivation. Those with learning disabilities aren’t lazy or dumb. In fact, most are just as smart as everyone else. Their brains are simply wired differently. This difference affects how they receive and process information.

Simply put, adults with learning disabilities see, hear, and understand things differently. This can lead to trouble with learning new information and skills, and putting them to use. The most common types of learning disabilities involve problems with reading, writing, math, reasoning, listening, and speaking.

  1. Accessing and Using Information
  2. Communications
  3. History & Context
  4. Relationships

Professional Qualifications

All staff are expected to undertake the Diploma, at the appropriate level, we prefer to start at Level 3, which is a senior support level, though we understand that this is not always possible and for those who feel unsure about the level of attainment, anxious about their own written or knowledge ability, bringing up a family, looking after family members, or have been out of training and learning for some time, Level 2 is an appropriate option. Senior staff are trained to Diploma Level 4, which is a management qualification. All staff are supported in having appropriate National Occupational Qualifications, and senior staff are both Assessors and Internal Verifiers in their own right, to help and aid staff through their qualifications in between seeing their Assessment Centre assessors.